Hacker News new | past | comments | ask | show | jobs | submit login

I was going to call you out on "rice gluten" which has nothing to do with wheat (which all of the "gluten-free" hubbub is about). Then I decided to hit up [Wikipedia][1]:

  Gluten is a protein composite found in wheat and related
  grains, including barley and rye.
and:

  The stored proteins of maize and rice are sometimes
  called glutens, but their proteins differ from true
  gluten.
Which is sort of confusing, because you also have [Glutinous Rice][2].

[1] http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gluten

[2] http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glutinous_rice




"Gluten" is just latin for "glue" hence agglutinate, glue, etc. Glutinous rice is just that -- it sticks together. The use for the protein is just an obscure gerund.


I know what glutinous rice is. It's just the propensity to describe the parts of grains that are 'sticky' as 'gluten,' and then to have one of them actually officially named 'gluten' that becomes confusing.


Yeah, well aware that Glutinous rice has nothing to do with gluten. Because rice has nothing to do with wheat.




Join us for AI Startup School this June 16-17 in San Francisco!

Guidelines | FAQ | Lists | API | Security | Legal | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: